A Ghost of my Christmas Past

Dolls I got for Christmas as a Child

My earliest Christmas memories always included getting dolls as one of the gifts. As I told in my post last Wednesday, the first Christmas I remember involved my doll Susanna, going to Aunt Mabel’s and my brother Tom’s birth (Which incidentally¬† his birthday was yesterday.)

The next Christmas I remember involved getting another doll. I barely remember that doll. I don’t even think she had a name. This doll was one that had a turning head that would have the different faces on it. One face was angry, the next was sad and crying, one would be sleeping and the last face face showed that the doll was happy.

Another year, I remember getting Susy Smart. Susy Smart was a talking doll that sang her ABCs and 123s and taught me those things. What she taught me came in very handy when I started the first grade. That’s why she was Suzy Smart, she knew the important stuff.

The year I did go into the first grade, I remember getting my first Barbie doll. Actually, she wasn’t a Barbie, she was Barbie’s younger sister Skipper. She was my first of many Barbie type dolls that I would later get.

https://i0.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/f/f6/Vintageskipper.jpg/150px-Vintageskipper.jpg

Susy Smart is on the left and Skipper, Barbie’s sister is on the right.

Televised Special Programing

I remember Christmas being a time of special television programs. For instance, Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer was one of our favorites.

What holiday season would be complete without at least one adaptation of Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol. Here’s a video mash up of several different adaptations featuring Scrooge and the ghost of Christmas past.

Another Holiday Christmas favorite is Its a Wonderful Life. this is a trailer for 1946.

I also remember Dad reading his Christmas poems. I have shared two already, but this one was often a favorite of many who heard it

Santa’s Error

by R. Leonard Swanson

I went to visit Santa

He said on Christmas Eve,

That he’d come down our chimney

And Presents He would leave

For Old Saint Nick to do this,

It would really be a feat,

Because we have no chimney

We use electric heat.

Another aspect that I found important during the Christmas holiday was the food. Usually we went to one of the cousins’ homes for the holiday dinner and for the exchange of gifts. I remember enjoying the cookies and candies. Here are some links to recipes that I remember from when I was a child.

Goodies of Christmas Past

Holiday Decorated Sugar Cookies

decorated cookies

Milk Chocolate Fudge

fudge and flowers

Thank you for joining me on this trip down Christmas memory lane. I hope you all have a Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

