Networking and the Brain

Since the first of the year, I have been thinking about what I am going to do when I finish school, and this past week I have done a couple of things that will help me along the road to building my career. Monday I went to the Missouri Career Center and talked to a woman who was also a writer. She gave me some names and then she gave me some job leads. I have not followed up on any of them yet. I have been busy with school and writing. Primarily Monday will be my day for doing job searching I think.  My big issue with finding a job I am discovering has to do with the fact that I don’t have the network that I need to have here in Springfield. I need to get out and meet the people that I may want to work with. As a writer, I definitely need to make those connections.

I, also, went online to a webinar about networking and  learned about Coffee, Lunch, Coffee,  a book written by Alana Muller. She said that she create a network by having coffee with one person in the morning, lunch with another person, and then coffee with another person in the afternoon for a total of three people per day five days per week. She said that by the end of a year, she had 160 meetings and met 200 new people in that time. She said that if I was looking for work, looking for work was my job. As in a job,I should get up and get dressed as though I were going to work and then go someplace where I can work. My main focus in getting a job should be to network, that it is in meeting people that I am able to find the right connections to find the job that I want. I don’t know that I could sit down with 15 people per week every week for a year, but I imagine that it is sort of like writing on a regular basis, once you get used to doing it, it becomes less of a chore and more of a habit.

I am in the middle of a class on physiological psychology and even though it sounds like a boring, dry class, once I plowed through the anatomy information, I found the class fascinating. Our brains are truly awesome. We’ve had an exponential growth in understanding of how our brain works, but the more we learn, the more we realize that we don’t know anything. Did you know that our brains are interactive? For instance, when we feel empathy toward someone who is sad, our brains motor and sensory neurons fire in the same part of the brain as the person with whom we empathize.I finished reading the textbook this week. I have just 3 more weeks of the class.

I listened to an audio this week that told about being mindful and I then downloaded a mindfulness bell on my phone. (free app). Periodically through the day, I am using that to help me focus for a minute or so while doing everyday things. I feel as though my mind is full this week (pun intended).

I added 2800 words to my work in progress A Coward’s Solace, the next book in The Locket Saga. This week, I, also, wrote hubs for Hubpages. Both have a mindfulness element to them.

The Best Tips For Losing Weight Permanently

Tips for Becoming Mindful

Leave a Reply

