Achieving My Greatest Goal

There is no limitation to the mind except those we acknowledge, both poverty and riches are the offspring of thought.”-  Napoleon Hill

Can you believe that we are already a quarter of the way through 2014? Are you on track for reaching your annual goals? I am a member of a Mastermind group and Monday afternoon, the leader of the group was instructing us on how to achieve our biggest goal for the year, and the information was so significant, that I knew I had to share it.

me_on_the_laptop

The first thing we have to do, of course, is to determine exactly what the goal is. I knew from past experience that goals should be SMART goals. Specific, Measurable, Actionable, Realistic, and Time Sensitive.

I didn’t really know what my goal was until he asked Monday what our most important goal was. I suddenly knew what it was and wrote it down.

“I will make $2000 a month writing (net) by the end of 2014. “

It fits all the criteria of a SMART goal. What this goal is not saying is that I expect to make money from the novels that I have written or from the books I have written, but that writing will be the main component of achieving this goal.

The First Question he asked that we answer about the goal that we set was: Why do you want to achieve this particular goal?

“I want to make this particular goal because I want to make my living by writing because I am good at it and I have a passion for writing.”

Second Question: Who is the ONE person who can be a big help in your reaching your goal? This person does not have to remain the same person. It can change as situations change.

“The Leader of My Mastermind group.”

When will you contact this person?

“I already have.”

What is the biggest change I have to make in my daily life in order to reach my goal?

“I need to change my focus, at least for now. I need to get in contact with more people on a daily basis.”

What do I have to do to make the change happen?

   “I need to get the courage to contact more people by email, by phone, and in person.”

What are the 3 Biggest Obstacles to achieving this goal?

1. No Sales Plan

2. No Marketing Plan

3. Other projects to finish

How can I overcome each of these obstacles?

1. Create a Sales Plan

2. Create a Marketing Plan

3. Finish Current Projects and don’t start other projects

Write out your affirming Goal Statement:

“I am doing what I need to do now so that I will be earning $2000 (net) by writing by the end of 2014.”

I already know that these questions are helping me become more focused on obtaining this goal. Let me know if you answer these questions and if you see how they help you focus on obtaining what you want in 2014.

Leave a Reply

