Procrastinating to Delay Change

The other day a friend of mine was talking about writers and procrastination. I am usually not one to procrastinate,  but lately I have been procrastinating about things that I normally am very proactive and keeping done. I realized that the reason was that I would soon be finishing something that I have loved working on and hate to move on. Just the idea that change is in the air is causing me to procrastinate!

me_on_the_laptop

Lately I have been writing articles about and writing my book Simply Vegetable Gardening. I am almost finished with it. Just a couple more weeks of editing, and my kindle copy of the book will be ready for publication and a couple of weeks after that, I should have the print copy of the book ready as well.

I also have my Dad’s poem book almost ready. Dad died last November 19 and I have been working on adding memoirs to the poetry, I had hoped for more help with memories from other family members, but its hard to get anyone else to write. Obviously, this is my project. I can see why I am procrastinating this. I am dealing with having to let go and as long as the book is not finished, I don’t have to put it all behind me.

Another aspect of my life that will be coming to an end soon relates to the fact that I will have finished my college degree July 30 of this year. It is certainly one aspect of my life that I will miss. I have always done well, so I will miss the accolades of my education process.

No wonder I am procrastinating a little. I like what I am doing and I will have to figure out something else to fill up the time.

At least I recognize the reason behind the procrastination, so I am able to push through it even though I feel anxious while I’m doing it. Are you procrastinating in any area of your life? Do you know why you are procrastinating?

On this Day in History as It Relates to the American Revolution

March 26, 1777 was a sad day for the patriots when they discovered that their fellow patriot Samuel Ward had died of smallpox. Mr. Ward had been a farmer, politician, Governor of the Rhode Island Colony and a delegate to the Continental Congress. He was the son of an earlier Rhode Island Governor, Richard Ward and Samuel grew up in a large Newport, RI family After marriage, he moved to Westerly Rhode Island where he got property from his father-in-law and began farming. He then entered into politics. He got into a controversy with Stephen Hopkins concerning a paper money/specie (hard) money. He favored hard money.

As a Rhode Island politician, Ward founded and became a trustee of Brown University, Rhode Island’s first college. During the stamp act, Samuel Ward was the only colonial governor to refuse to uphold the act. This threatened his position as governor, but solidified his recognition as a great patriot. He finished his last term as governor in 1767 and retired to his farm in Westerly, but in 1774 he felt it his civic duty to become a delegate to the Continental Congress. He devoted all of his energy to the effort. After the battles of Lexington and Concord, Ward made his famous statement “Heaven save my country, is my first, my last, and almost my only prayer.”

Declaration-of-IndependenceDuring a Constitutional Congress meeting in Philadelphia, he collapsed and later died of small pox, just three months before he would have signed the Declaration of Independence. He remains were buried in Newport, RI.

If you haven’t yet received your copy of Vegetable Gardening in the Shade, do so now by clicking on this link and receive a subscription to my newsletter Cygnet’s News as well. In this newsletter, you will be able to keep up with events that I will be attending, updates on my books, and articles that bring the conflict of the American Revolution to life as well as timely gardening tips from what to plant, how to plant it using organic methods, how to keep it growing and how to use it after harvest.

Leave a Reply

