April First-Day: List my Fears

Just the other day, a wise woman told me this:

“What holds you back Donna, is your own fear of Self. You often fail to see the brilliance that lies beneath your insecurities… but I promise – all you need to do is let your True Self shine through!”

This is part of the reason that I decided to use the month of April as the month that I take the time to face my fears and deal with some of the most debilitating fears that I have. I know that I am intelligent. I know that I am capable. I know that I have not been living up to my full potential. A lot has happened in the past few months. My Dad died which was expected, but then my brother died which was not. All this has made me realize that I have not been who I know I am capable of being. The reason is fear. I am afraid to step out of my comfort zone and do the things that I really want to do in life.

We don’t venture out and explore new ideas when we are afraid. Fears are what keep us in our comfort zone. To determine how I will face my fears this month, the first thing I must do is list them as I think of them. Listing them gives me a perspective. Some of the fears are related, some are not. Once I have listed my fears, I will prioritize them to determine which ones to face first, and which ones will take time. I will determine which ones are steps I must take to help me face the larger, more important fears. By keeping a list, I will be able to develop a game plan for the month.

Do you have fears? Sit down and list yours while I list mine. Come on this journey with me. Perhaps you too can grow with this journey of stepping out of my comfort zone and facing my fears that are keeping me from doing the things that I really want to do.  I begin by creating that list of fears. I’ve got nothing to lose but fear itself!

 

Leave a Reply

