Day 13 of the Overcoming Fear Challenge

Excuses: Fear’s Biggest Ally

Why is it that we don’t do what we really want to do in life? We make excuses for why we can’t do what it is that we say we want to do. Why do we do that? We do that because we cloak fear in the shroud of what many call “being realistic”. Its not realistic to dream, we are told and since whoever it is we are listening to cares about us, we internalize “being realistic”. When we do step out and begin to entertain our dreams, the voice of “reality” gets louder in its support of these excuses. In this TEDx video: Why You Will Fail To Have Great Career  by Larry Smith, he examines various excuses that we use and challenges us to step beyond those excuses.

When I started this series, I had no idea where each of these posts would lead. I had no idea what answers I would discover when I began writing. All I knew was that I needed to start this 30 day series for my own benefit. I have heard that when you ask for something, God will bring you the answers to your questions. This morning when I awoke, I had no idea that this video by Larry Smith would be included in this series, but when I saw it, I knew that it was a piece of the puzzle and it was something that I have been struggling with for a long time. I hope you gain new insights as I have from this fifteen minute video.

About the Author

2014-04-07 07.07.08Cygnet Brown has recently finished her first nonfiction book: Simply Vegetable Gardening: Simple Organic Gardening Tips for the Beginning Gardener She is also the author of historical fiction series The Locket Saga Cygnet Brown resides in Springfield, Missouri.

Get a free copy of her newsletter and a free pdf copy of her e-booket: Vegetable Gardening in the Shade.

Day 13 Overcoming Fear Challenge ©2014 Donna (Cygnet) Brown

Leave a Reply

